Tour map

Hualien - Taroko - Zhuilu Adventure

You know saying, “Hard work pays off?” Well that's the case with the Zhuilu Old Trail (錐麓古道). The 10 km hike is a bit of a vertical workout, but your effort will be rewarded tenfold: this trail o...

  • Hualien
  • 1 day / 8 hrs
  • Private English-speaking guide
Travel style:

Spots in itinerary

Popular itinerary
Zhuilu Old TrailDetail
suggested duration 360 mins
sight
activity
You know saying, “Hard work pays off?” Well that's the case with the Zhuilu Old Trail (錐麓古道). Th...

reviews

12 reviews
4.8
Jacob
partner
26 Apr 2018
William was a class act and a true professional! He went above and beyond and absolutely exceeded all of our expectations! I would recommend RTR 100% and I'm certain I will use them again when I return. A+++ You all were wonderful, responsive, and helpful. Thanks again for a great time!
10 May 2018
quekchunyong
partner
08 Feb 2018
knowledgeable
22 Feb 2018
Abrielle
friend
07 Feb 2018
The guide is friendly , informative.
21 Feb 2018
Gilburt
friend
01 Feb 2018
William Ho is the best tour guide I've ever had. He is very knowledgeable of the area and accommodating to the guests. I would recommend him to anyone!
15 Feb 2018
Michael
partner
11 Jan 2018
Ah Hua was great. Very knowledgeable and a real local expert. We had a great time with Ah Hua. He told us he sometimes hikes the Zhuilu Old Trail 4 or 5 times a week, and it really showed. He knew when to take breaks and what pace to go with us. It turned into an easy and beautiful climb! There was time left over so he took us to some local spots to eat. Very friendly and knowledgeable about the trail and the area. We would recommend! Very helpful when there weren't enough people in the group, and flexible when we needed to pay in cash to upgrade.
25 Jan 2018

about Taroko - Zhuilu Adventure

You know saying, “Hard work pays off?” Well that's the case with the Zhuilu Old Trail (錐麓古道). The 10 km hike is a bit of a vertical workout, but your effort will be rewarded tenfold: this trail offers the most breathtaking bird's-eye views in the whole Taroko Gorge. Imagine yourself looking down from the top of Taipei 101, but the scenery below is the magnificent marble walled canyon of Taroko and the Liwu River that carved it. Those insect like things moving about at the bottom?

Oh yeah, those are people who wished they could enjoy the views afforded from up here.

Originally, this trail was part of a longer cross-island mountain pass built by indigenous groups in the area. In fact, you can still find remnants of their settlements and market outposts along the path. Later, the Japanese recruited tribe members to further develop the trail to serve two purposes during colonial times: 1) to provide the Japanese military an outpost to subdue native settlements in the Taroko region, and 2) to utilize as a trekking location for Japanese tourists.

Be amazed by the 500 meter long Zhuilu Cliff that is one of the greatest adrenaline rushes you'll ever experience! To top it all off, you may just be lucky enough to spot some monkeys spying on you from the surrounding jungle.

Tour Information

Pick up Locations
Hotels in Hualien City / Visitor Center next to Hualien Train Station front exit / Hualien Airport / Port of Hualien
Drop off Locations
Hotels in Hualien City / Hualien Train Station / Hualien Airport / Port of Hualien
Included
Guiding service/Permit application/Transportation (fuel, parking, and toll fee)/Passenger insurance /Tax/Entrance Fee (TWD200 each)/Lunch
Excluded
Cancellation Policy
Severe weather conditions or cancellation made by customer more than 72 hours before departure will qualify for a 100% refund. Otherwise, no refund will be issued.
Notice
  • This private tour starts at 08:00 and ends at 16:30.
  • Entrance fee (TWD200 each) and lunch is included in this tour.
  • The number of visitors to Zhuilu Old Trail is limited (weekdays: 96 persons / weekend: 156 persons). Please book with us at least 7 days in advance to apply for the permits in time. After booking online successfully, we will request for your personal info for permits application use only. However, visitors younger than 13 years old cannot apply the permit for safety issue. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there is no vacancy for permits to Zhuilu Old Trail according to Taroko National Park. In this event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Now only half of the trail is open to public due to maintenance at the rear part of the trail. So it's necessary to enter from Swallow Grotto side, return at 3.1k and leave the trail from Swallow Grotto as well (6.2 round-trip hiking).
  • This hike would take around 5 hours in total. Lunch, snack, plenty of water, and raincoat should be prepared in advance.
  • For visitors who is going to take a train from Hualien to Taipei after this tour, it's better to book a train departing after 18:00.
  • Contact Us
    For any query, please email service@roundTAIWANround.com. Alternative, you may call +886-4-24361910 for any urgent request.
    Overtime Extra Charge
    Optional : If you wish to extend your tour, every extra hour over the agreed schedule of a private tour is charged TWD500 (US$17) for a sedan-based or van-based tour, or TWD1000 (US$34) for a bus-based tour. There will be no overtime extra charge for a shared tour.
    Available on
    everyday

    F A Q

    Can't find the information ?Help center
    4.812 reviews
    FROM US$160 per car
    You're choosing:
    Taroko - Zhuilu Adventure-Popular itinerary
    2018 Dec
    Sun
    Mon
    Tue
    Wed
    Thu
    Fri
    Sat
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    11
    12
    13
    14
    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20
    21
    22
    23
    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
    31
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    Total Price
    US$ 0